Entry One

The 13.5-hour flight from Detroit to Seoul was not as bad as I thought it would be. At times it went slow and others fast, but before we knew it we were landing in Seoul! I have never travelled on such a large plane before; it carried close to 400 passengers. Contrary to the domestic flights I was familiar with, this plane contained three sections and two aisles. Of course I was stuck in the very middle section of the plane in between the “dog lady” (yes, she had a dog on her lap) and then a Korean woman. The dog didn’t smell too pleasant, and it barked intermittently throughout the ride. Poor thing was drugged up on alprazolam (Xanax) and seemed all out of sorts.

p1p2

We departed from Detroit at 3:30 p.m. on a Thursday and landed in Korea at 6:05 p.m. on Friday, July 3rd (due to the 13 hour time difference). I slept, read my novel, and watched movies to pass the time. For some reason, my movies of choice consisted of hits from Nicholas Sparks. Life advice: Don’t watching cheesy movies on planes. It’s a tad awkward during the love scenes when you’re sandwiched between two strangers who each have a clear view of your screen.

We received both free alcohol and food throughout the duration of the flight. Say the word “free” to a college student and they’re all for it (whether they’re hungry or not). We were served a decently large dinner, given snacks throughout, and then had breakfast before arrival. Better believe I ate each and every meal, especially with all the calorie burning I was doing for 13.5 hours. Watching movies can get pretty exhausting…

p4 p5

It was strange arriving in Seoul when it was daylight since my brain still thought it was 3:00 a.m. I was such a walking zombie that I ended up losing my phone in the bathroom next to the plane’s exit gate. I didn’t realize it was gone until I had already passed through Korean customs, where you have to show your passport to the “intimidating” officer and state why you are entering the country.

Anyways, I had to rush back to the same officer and explain that I needed to pass back through to search for my phone. I honestly had no idea if he even spoke English. Luckily, the officer took hold of my passport and let me go (for visual effect-I was running at this point towards the bathroom). After retrieving my phone and going through customs once again, the Korean officer handed back my passport and said with broken English, “Good luck.” I was not sure how to take that comment. Lol

p6

Although it wasn’t too good of a start to my trip, I viewed it as a wake up call to be more conscientious about my belongings. There’s never a dull moment with me and my jumbled self, so I’m sure there will be many more stories to share for the remainder of the trip. See you next time!

Leave a Reply

